Chirag United Kerala to begin campaign against Prayag United SC

August 19th, 2011 Section: Federation Cup, Viva Kerala FC (CUK)

Chirag United Kerala are drawn in Group D along with Prayag United SC, Air India FC and Sporting Club de Goa for the group stages of the 33rd Federation Cup to be held at Kolkata. The draw took place at the Football House, New Delhi in presence of all club representatives and the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) delegation.

Chirag Kerala playing their first major tournament after the takeover by Chirag United Sports Ltd. will face Prayag United SC in an interesting encounter on September 18, 2011. They will meet Sporting Club de Goa on 20th before playing final group match against Air India on September 22. Winners from each group will progress into the semi finals of the tournament that will be held at Kolkata.

14 clubs were pooled into four groups at the Football House, with two second division teams joining them through qualifiers. The qualifying rounds will kick-start on September 8 at Kolkata. Mohammedan Sporting, Vasco SC, Ar-Hima, Southern Samity, United Sikkim Football Club, Royal Wahingdoh and ONGC Fc are the seven teams competing in the qualifiers.

33rd Federation Cup 2011:

Group A: McDowell Mohun Bagan, Churchill Brothers, Shillong Lajong FC, Qualifier B
Group B: Pailan Arrows, Salgaocar Sports Club, Mumbai FC, HAL
Group C: Kingfisher East Bengal, Dempo SC, Pune FC, Qualifier A
Group D: Prayag United SC, Sporting Clube de Goa, Air India, Chirag United Kerala FC

Group A and Group B will play their matches at Pune while Group C and Group D will play at Kolkata that will also host the main tournament.

Fixtures – Group D

18.09.2011: Prayag United SC vs Chirag United Kerala
18.09.2011: Sporting Clube de Goa vs Air India
20.09.2011: Air India vs Prayag United SC
20.09.2011: Chirag United Kerala vs Sporting Clube de Goa
22.09.2011: Prayag United SC vs Sporting Clube de Goa
22.09.2011: Air India vs Chirag United Kerala